DIRECT Research Team

Principal Investigators

Professor Mike Lean MA, MB, BChir, MD, FRCP (Edinburgh) FRCPS (Glasgow)

Chair of Human Nutrition, University of Glasgow and Consultant Physician, Glasgow Royal Infirmary

Professor Roy Taylor: MB ChB, BSc Hons, MRCP MD, FRCP, FRCPE

Professor of Medicine and Metabolism, University of Newcastle and Honorary Consultant Physician, Newcastle Acute Hospitals NHS Trust

Study Coordinator

Dr Wilma Leslie: RGN, MSc, PhD,

Research Associates


Naomi Brosnahan BSc, RD

George Thom BSc, MSc, RD

Louise McCombie Bsc, P Grad Dip (Dietetics)


Carl Peters MB ChB

Alison Barnes BA, BSc, RD,

Angela Rodrigues BSc

Svietlana Zhyszuskaya MB BS


Prof Ian Ford: BSc Hons, PhD Director, Robertson Centre for Biostatistics

Professor Naveed Sattar: MBChB, PhD, FRCPath, FRCP (Glas), FRSE Professor of Metabolic Medicine

Dr Kieren Hollingsworth: BA (Hons), MEng (Hons), PhD Lecturer in Magnetic Resonance Physics

Professor Ashley Adamson: BSc, PhD Professor of Public Health Nutrition and NIHR Research Professor

Professor Falko Sniehotta: Dipl.-Psych PhD Professor of Behavioural Medicine and Health Phsychology

Naomi Brosnahan: BSc, P Grad Dip (Dietetics) Research Associate (Dietitian) University of Glasgow (Affiliate)

Hazel Ross: BSc, PG Diploma (Dietetics) Chief Executive Officer Counterweight Ltd

Professor John Mathers: B.Sc., PG Diploma, Ph.D. Professor of Human Nutrition

External Trial Steering Committee Chair

Professor Rory McCrimmon: Scottish Diabetes Research Network representative Professor of Experimental Diabetes and Metabolism

Committee Members

Professor Mike Lean: Principal Investigator DiRECT

Professor Roy Taylor: Principal Investigator DiRECT

Professor John Norrie: Independent Statistician Trials Director, Health Services Research Unit, University of Aberdeen

Prof Ian Ford: Trials Specialist Director, Robertson Centre for Biostatistics

Dr Paul Robb: Patient Representative nominated by Diabetes UK